Marine Geosciences

Department Faculty


Falk C Amelung

Professor

famelung@miami.edu

(305) 421-4949
Active Volcanism and Tectonics, InSAR, Remote Sensing

Keir Becker

Professor

kbecker@miami.edu

(305) 421-4661
Heat flow and hydrothermal circulation in the oceanic crust; permeability and porosity of oceanic crust; borehole hydrogeological observatories.

Gregor Paul Eberli

Professor
and Robert N. Ginsburg Endowed Chair in Marine Geosciences

geberli@miami.edu

(305) 421-4678
Gregor Eberli has spent much of his science career exploring the earth’s sediments as recorders of environmental changes. A native of Switzerland, Eberli received his doctorate from Swiss Institute of Technology (ETH) Zürich in 1985. A grant from the Swiss National Science Foundation allowed him to pursue postdoctoral studies...

Adam Francis Holt

Asst. Professor

axh1305@miami.edu

(305) 421-5345
I am an Assistant Professor in the Department of Marine Geosciences (MGS) at UM’s Rosenstiel School of Marine, Atmospheric, and Earth Science.  I am a Geodynamicist who studies the deformation occurring at plate boundaries and within the underlying, flowing mantle. In order to constrain the fundamental properties of...

Alexander Humphreys

Senior Lecturer

afh35@miami.edu


James Klaus

Assoc. Professor

j.klaus@miami.edu

(305) 284-6792
Associate Professor, Department of Marine Geosciences, Rosenstiel School of Marine, Atmospheric, and Earth Sciences

Guoqing Lin

Professor

glin@miami.edu

(305) 421-4150
Earthquake relocation, seismic velocity and attenuation tomography, volcano seismology, subduction earthquakes, and spatial/temporal variations of seismic properties.

Amanda Oehlert

Asst. Professor

aoehlert@miami.edu

(305) 421-4405
Amanda Oehlert is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Marine Geosciences (MGS) at the University of Miami’s Rosesntiel School of Marine, Atmospheric, and Earth Science. Her doctoral work focused on understanding geochemical records of global carbon cycling in a variety of depositional settings and diagenetic regimes. After...

Larry C. Peterson

Professor
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education

lpeterson@miami.edu

(305) 421-4692
Larry Peterson is the Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education and a Professor in the Department of Marine Geosciences. Reconstruction of past oceans and climates from marine sediments; abrupt climate change; deep sea sedimentation processes; stable isotope geochemistry of foraminifera.

Ali Pourmand

Assoc. Professor

apourmand@miami.edu

(305) 421-4662
My research interests range from the Cosmos to the Benthos and the Underworld, with special focus on applications of isotope geochemistry and extraction chromatography in paleoclimatology, paleoceanography, geoarcheology and cosmochemistry.

Sam Purkis

Professor
and Chair of the Department of Marine Geosciences

sxp918@miami.edu

(305) 421-4351
At a young age I was fortunate enough to stumble on a copy of Jacques Cousteau’s 1953 book “The Silent World”, which piqued my interest in everything underwater. Shortly thereafter, I saw his movie of the same name. I was hooked. At the earliest possible opportunity I learnt to SCUBA dive, becoming a diving...

R. Pamela Reid

Professor

r.reid@miami.edu

(305) 421-4606
Carbonate sedimentation and diagenesis, geomicrobiology and biomineralization: formation and lithification of stromatolites; shallow-water alteration of carbonate skeletons; effects of sea level, volcanism and tectonics on processes of carbonate deposition.

Peter K Swart

Professor

pswart@miami.edu

(305) 421-4103
Stable Isotope Geochemistry Stable Isotope Laboratory; Carbonate Diagenesis; Sedimentology and Petrology Comparative Sedimentology Laboratory ; Cosmochemistry.

Ralf Josef Weger

Research Asst. Professor

rweger@miami.edu

(305) 298-4493